Writers block


Writer’s Block

I want to write, I need to write, but the words escape me
The pen begins to speak,
“It is the heart not you who makes me”
I begin to plead…
“I really need this written,
I don’t have time for you to be smitten ”
My pen replies,
“Do you not know we create art and when I say we I mean pen and heart”
I quickly reply
“Of course I realize!”
The pen interrupts,
“Well it seems you don’t understand,
it’s not about your plan.
It is about capturing an emotion
so where ever did you get this notion”
I interrupt screaming,
“I understand all that, I get the deeper meaning!”
The pen calmly interjects,
“No… No you don’t you don’t understand at all.
If so, you would know that I answer to a higher call.
I amount to more than your weekly blog post.
I am the soul’s host, the emotions’ usher.
I am what causes a man to push further.
So if you think that you can make me jump;
Then by all means try all you want.
Your force is evident
Delivering a lack luster performance to put forth your weekly regiment”
Saddness and embarassment sweep my face
“I apologize my dear pen forgive my mistake.
I had forgotten it is not I but the heart that creates”

6 thoughts on “Writers block

  1. Love this!! The heart must be in control if we want our poems/writings to be authentic. I’m not a writer who is trying to pass on information or facts. I want to connect emotionally…and from the sounds of your poem you do also.
    Perfect portrayal of the struggle that ensues when we try to end our writers block with our mind.
    Glad I stopped by from The Pub

Leave a comment